Country Facts

Cambodia locates in Southeast Asia at the southern part of Indochina. Among 10 countries of ASEAN, Cambodia’s landarea is 181,035-square Kilometers, ranks eight country. The population is 11, 437,656 people ranks seventh country. The geogra phical location is in the middle of other ASEAN countries, which makes it easy accessible within the region and the world.

Geographically, Cambodia situated between 10th-15th parallels of northern latitude and between 102th-108th eastern atitude. The geographical location indicates Cambodia is a tropical, warm and humid country. It effected by Asia monsoon with a lot of rain to enable growth of vegetation and all varieties of crop. With these characteristics make Cambodia a favorable for development. Tourism development is highly desirable due to warm climate for year round.Cambodia’s boundary is 2,600 Kilometers consisting of five-sxth lands and one-sixth coastal borders. The kingdom of Cambodia borders the People Democratic Republic of Laos at the North, the Socialist Republic of Vietnam at the East and Southeast and the Kingdom of Thailand at the West. The Kingdom of Cambodia has made agreements on political and development cooperation with these neighboring countries.

Cambodia situates along 440-kilometer coastal border with medium depth of tropical sea, rich in aquatic fish. There are beautifully uninhabited islands, virgin beaches, whitesand and clear air.

The dimension of Cambodia is 181,035 square Kilometers shaping as almost square polygon. which its central point is Kampong Thom province. Kampong Thom province has 440 Kilometers from North to South and 560 Kilometers from West to East. The shape of Cambodia doesn’t make any difficulty for tourists to travel. In addition, Cambodia doesn’t have any serious natural disasters like volcano or earthquake because the country situates under the direction of storm.

In general, Cambodia is deep and plain at the middle. The country enclosed by mountains,plateaus and coastal areas at the Southwest part. By the principle of tourist-areas development, Cambodia has been classified into four main parts:

The surface of Plain Area is 67,668 Square Kilometers, which is totally inhabited by 5,898,305 people in the density of 235 people per square Kilometer. The area has 63 Districts, 700 Communes and 6,416 Villages, Which consists of Capital Phnom Penh and Provinces of Kandal, Kampong Cham, Svay Rieng, Prey Veng and Takeo.